Trying to access lost wallet, Could you please help?

Hi

I’m new to using the Daedalus wallet and trying to access my wallet, Could you please help?

I set up the Daedalus wallet on my mac a couple days ago and sent some ADA there after setting it up. I tried to access my wallet again today, but it seems the the application has completely forgotten that i made a wallet previously. When i open it, my previous wallet does not show up and it only gives me the option to add a new wallet by restoring from a backup or creating a new wallet.

There is also an option to import from a file, but it is greyed out. I saw some forums where people were talking about loading the wallet from a file on my computer (with a .bat extension), but i can’t find a file to open the wallet in any system search or manual search. I see the Daedalus folder with many subfolders, but none of the files in these folders seem to open my wallet or do anything when i click on them (other than just open text files or say that i dont have the right app to open them).

I have my recovery seed so i can restore the wallet, but i thought that i should be able to access the wallet with just the password i set and the wallet (without using the recovery seed every time to restore the wallet). Is this correct or do i need the recovery seed every time?

Why did the Daedalus wallet app forget my wallet? Is this normal or did something go wrong?

And why can’t i find the wallet file? Am i looking in the wrong place or was i supposed to manually save this somewhere after setting up the wallet?

Thanks for your help

I don’t know much, but because nobody else has replied yet (which is a real shame) I’ll share what I do know (or think I know!).

Ignore import from file, it’s irrelevant here. People sometimes say “wallet” when they mean the Daedalus app. The .bat file starts Daedalus. Forget “wallet file”.