Daedalus Wallet updates

I am a beginner, when there is Daedalus Wallet update, how do I correctly update the wallet so I don’t lose any coins?

Thank you

Howard

1 Like

The only thing you need to recover your wallet is the 12-word recovery phrase you have seen and was told to write down during your initial wallet setup. The current v1 does clearly say "It (the pass-phrase) can be entered in any version of Deadalus in order to restore your wallet"
I don’t expect any requirement to re-install or recover your former settings after the next update.

BTW: You can expect v1.1 in a couple of hours

For your understanding: your coins are not stored only on your computer but also in the cardano blockchain. So even if your computer hard disk fails and you have to reinstall (same or new version of) Daedalus, just restore your wallet, by using the recovery phrase.

3 Likes

When I get a new PC and want access to the fund through my new PC, Do I just download and install Daedalus wallet on the new PC and restore wallet using the 12-word recovery phrase in order to have access to my fund?

Thank you

Howard

1 Like

That is the correct method @jiangh77.

1 Like

I just wanted to verify…

“your coins are not stored only on your computer but also in the cardano blockchain. So even if your computer hard disk fails and you have to reinstall (same or new version of) Daedalus, just restore your wallet, by using the recovery phrase.”

To be honest, I have been a little apprehensive in sending my coins from the exchange to a hard wallet because I have read from other threads that when one recovers the Deadalus Wallet, there wallet appears however the coins are not there?

1 Like